Mon 19. August
20.00 h Schloss Augustusburg Prices B: 40 / 33 / 30 / 21 / 12 / 7 €


From Russia with Love

Petteri Pitko (Harpsichord)
Finnish Baroque Orchestra
Irma Niskanen (Violin and Conductor)

The Finnish Baroque Orchestra has earned itself a superb reputation with a repertoire reaching from the early Baroque through to the early Romantic and unconventional program arrangements. The crux of the program with us at the Augustusburg Palace: Moscow, one of the most important European music centers next to St. Petersburg in the 18th and beginning of the 19th century. Haydn and Mozart were highly revered here and in return Russian composers were greatly beloved in the German-speaking world. Various references to Russia are found in the Finns’ program. Among others Joseph Haydn’s “Russian” String Quartet No. 6 will be heard, which was once presented to the Russian Grand Duke.

Ouvertüre zur Oper ›Il Matrimonio inaspettato‹

Poco adagio aus der Sonate ›Les Adieux de la Grande Duchesse des Russies‹

Ballo aus der Oper ›La Felicità inaspettata‹

JOSEPH HAYDN (1732–1809)
Streichquartett D-Dur op. 33 Nr. 6 Hob. III:42 ›Russisches Nr. 6‹

Konzert G-Dur Hob. XVIII:4 für Cembalo und Streicher

Concerto a quattro


Schloss Augustusburg
Schloss Augustusburg