Fri 25. August
20.00 h Schloss Augustusburg Prices B: 38 / 33 / 28 / 21 / 12 / 7 €


The Art of Quartett in Panorama

Artemis Quartett

In Greek mythology Artemis is the bow-wielding goddess of the hunt, while in the music scene of our day Artemis is the name of a world-renowned string quartet. Founded in 1989 in Lübeck, the quartet currently resides in Berlin. Their triumph at the Munich ARD Music Awards in 1996 paved the way to a great career. In the meantime the quartet has been showered with prizes and accolades – already four times alone at the ECHO Klassik, plus the French Diapason d’Or and the German Record Critics‘ Award. With string quartets spanning three centuries, Artemis offers up a perspective into the art of the quartet – from the Quartet in G major from Haydn’s later string quartet op. 76, completed in 1797, to Schumann’s Quartet in A major op. 41 from 1842, his “chamber music year“, up through Béla Bartók’s 3rd string quartet from 1927. Quartets from the classical, romantic and modern – how time flies!

Joseph Haydn (1732–1809)
String Quartet in G major op. 76 No. 1 Hob. III:75

Béla Bartók (1881–1945)
String Quartet No. 3 in C-sharp minor SZ 85

Robert Schumann (1810–1856)
String Quartet in A major op. 41 No. 3


Schloss Augustusburg
Schloss Augustusburg

Related Concerts

Sun 20. August